Guitar Man (Men) . . .

I spent most of the morning going through some bins and throwing stuff away that had been accumulating since before our gate guarding adventure. If the weather hadn’t been so sucky I might have worked on the outside bins for a while too. But it was blowing rain most of the day as the front came through.

I recently got a couple of photos of my great-nieces up in North Alabama. First up is Stahlie.

Stahlie Calvin 3

adfdfad

and this is Darby.

Darby Calvin 2

Growing up on a farm and being homeschooled really agrees with them. They’re both smart and beautiful.

When we were at Chili’s yesterday, I found this beautiful Chevy coupe out in the parking lot. Don’t know what year it is. Maybe Nick will know.

Chilie's Old Chevy 1

Chilie's Old Chevy 2

sadfgsdfg

A little before 6 we headed up 146 to La Brisa to meet our son Chris and daughter-in-law Linda, along with fellow RV’ers and gate guards, Dick and Judy Mott

Judy and Dick Mott

Besides getting together with family and good friends, we wanted to get Dick and Chris together, because as it turns out, they’re both into building Cigar Box Guitars.

Here’s some of Dick’s.

Cigar Box Guitars

It was really fun to see them trading ideas back and forth at the table, and then later out in the parking lot, showing off their creations to each other.

Hopefully we’ll have a chance to get together with Dick and Judy again before they leave. We all had a great time.

Tomorrow night we’re going to the Christmas Show at the Alvin Opry. We’ve been going since the late 90’s and always have a great time, Seems like the favorite part is always everyone trying to sing “The 12 Days of Christmas” and keep it straight.


Thought for the Day:

I always give myself very good advice. Unfortunately I don’t always follow it.

fgsfdgsfdgs.

10 Responses

  1. That red Chevy reminds me a lot of a car that my Mom got in 1949 when we moved out to the country and a second family vehicle was needed. I think it was a Plymouth which never looked quite that shiny in spite of my effort to wax it one day while Mom was on the phone. At the ripe old age of six I did not know that the car needed to be washed first. Could not understand why Mom was not happy, kind of like when I decided to help her by burning the trash one day. Fortunately it was not a windy Oklahoma day.

  2. That looks like a Kit Car of a 37 Chevy Coupe. (36 didn’t have the extra side windows) Be Safe and Enjoy!

    It’s about time.

  3. Mike’s vote is for a 1940’s.

  4. I think it is a ’38 chevy

  5. Charles says its probably a 1940

  6. Chris,

    That’s what I kind of thought, but if so, It’s heavily modified compared to photos on the Internet.

  7. Cool old car. Things like that make John drool. Love the cigar guitars.

  8. My first car was a 1938 Chevy two door. Your picture is not a ’38. I too believe it is a 1937.

    JC

  9. Have missed you the last two days. Hope nothing is wrong and you are well!

  10. Larry,

    Not sure what you mean.

    Are you not seeing the blogs?

Leave a Reply

