Picky, Picky, Picky . . .

Jan and I headed up to Webster about 10am to pick up our truck from Brock’s Car Care after they finished the repairs. We wanted to do it early since we needed to get the rental car back to Enterprise before noon.

And I will be really glad to turn in this Hyundai Elantra. It is undoubtedly the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. I like the handling and response, but the seats are sheer torture. The seat backs are curved so that you’re supposed to sit back into them. But my back is wider than the seat edges so that I’m either sitting across the front edges, or I’m sitting sideways half in and half out of the seat. On top of that, the seat backs don’t have a lot of padding so they’re not very comfortable anyway.

Plus there is a large bar code sticker on the bottom rear of the driver’s window that hovers right in my peripheral vision making me think there’s a car right beside me.

Yeah, I know, picky, picky, picky.

Like most trips to the mechanic they found some other things that needed fixing. So, all told, I got two new front hubs, new tie rods, a four wheel alignment, a rear brake job, including rotors and pads, a new battery, and of course, the obligatory lube and oil change.

Then after dropping off the rental car we headed up to King Food for a lunch of Chicken in Hot Garlic with Fresh Jalapenos. Mmmm Good!

After lunch we drove over to the car wash to get 3 months of encrusted caliche dust off the truck. We can actually see what color it is now. Then heading for home, we stopped off at Kroger’s for a few things, and a couple of lattes from the in-store Starbuck’s.

Getting back to the rig, I started to unpack some things from the truck. The main thing I wanted to get out was the fabric top for our Coleman canopy. It was raining when we packed it away in a large garbage bag for the trip back to Houston and I wanted to get it open and dried out before it mildewed. I draped it across the truck for a while and the wind dried it out pretty quickly. Then I did the same thing for the tarp that we used for a windbreak on the gate.

I wanted to get all this done because the weather is getting ready to turn crappy. Today’s high was 80 but tomorrow night’s low is supposed to be 47. Then Friday’s high is forecast to be 52 and rainy.

A big change.


Thought for the Day:

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers" – Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

sdfgsfdgs

8 Responses

  1. Greg, after paying for those repairs I would have gone home, taken 6 aspirins and gone to bed to cry. Oh wait, I did that recently with my wife’s CRV. 😦
    My laptop search goes on. Found one that can have Ubuntu installed …. Any adice?

  2. You would think, with all the repairs you had done on your truck, they would have washed it for you.

  3. I don’t think you’re being picky at all. If the car is uncomfortable to drive, then that’s that.
    I’ve taken cars back to rental places and done a switch in the past if I’ve ended up with a piece of junk. Being uncomfortable and *paying* too? I don’t think so.
    I’m probably spoiled, I know. But the vehicles that are on offer from North American rental places is a far cry from what’s available in Europe, and that seems to be the problem that I have.
    At least you got your own wheels back, and by the sounds of it, you’ll be driving it for a good long while.

  4. You are so right about how uncomfortable the newer cars are!! We got a new car, Chrysler 200, this last spring…as our old car is getting tired, though the new one is on the West Coast and our old one is still here on the East coast…and though the seats in the 200 are ok…they will never be like our fabulous seats in our 2000 Dodge Intrepid…yep over 200,000 miles and a major wreck 5 years ago…was well worth repairing!! Drives easy, rides easy…and what is wrong with that?? I think maybe the powers that be, think if they make the seats in the new cars SMALLER, we will get smaller “buckets” to fit somehow…yea, right. Glad your vehicle is all fixed up now!!

  5. JimS –

    I found the user interface on Ubuntu to be a bit odd, overwhelming and flashy. My I suggest you check out Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon? It is a lot like Windows 7. I am currently using Mint 15 but will be upgrading. They have a good forum also.

  6. Jim,

    Unless you’ve worked with Linux before you might find it as strange as Windows 8.

    Two suggestions:

    You can still special order laptops with Win 7 on them.

    or

    Find a laptop that already has Win 8.1 on it. 8.1 can be set up to look and work exactly like XP/Vista/7.

  7. Jan,

    You would think so, wouldn’t you.

  8. Elizabeth,

    Love the Intrepid!

    We had a 1998 before we started RV’ing.

    Bought it off of Craigslist.

    But it wouldn’t tow very well.

Leave a Reply

